The Robinson & Janet Lapp Learning Commons

The Lapp Learning Commons has a long tradition and commitment to meeting the instructional and research needs of its constituents. Our mission is to continually build and provide access to materials, promote information literacy and lifelong learning in order to advance learning and scholarship within the entire Chicago Theological Seminary community.

The Learning Commons collection reflects CTS’s strong commitment to pluralistic and ecumenical concerns. The collection is strong in the theological subject areas of Bible, Church History, Ethics, and Theology. Areas of intensive collection include African American religion and spirituality, LGBTQ studies, women’s studies, and interreligious engagement.

Special collections of note include the following:

  1. The Anton T. Boisen Collection houses materials created by Dr. Boisen during his lifetime. His major research area was mental health and religious experience and he is considered an early founder of the Clinical Pastoral Education movement.
  2. The Reverend Dr. G. Campbell Morgan Collection includes the most complete collection of his works. Rev. Dr. Morgan is considered one of the most outstanding preachers of the 20th century.
  3. Department of Research and Survey Papers includes statistical and sociological analyses of individual churches and communities from the 1920s to the 1950s.

CTS is also part of the Association of Chicago Theological Schools (ACTS), formed in 1984 by twelve theological schools located in the Chicago area. CTS students are able to access library resources and participate in a diverse network of theological schools. Among the twelve schools there is a library collection of 2.1 million volumes and nearly 5,500 periodical subscriptions.

The Lapp Learning Commons is located on the third floor of the Chicago Theological Seminary and offers different types of study spaces and amenities.



Monday – 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM

Tuesday – 10:00 AM – 7:00 PM

Wednesday – 10:00 AM – 7:00 PM

Thursday – 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM

Friday – 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM

Saturday – Closed

Sunday – Closed



Monday – 9:30 AM – 2:30 PM

Tuesday – 9:30 AM – 2:30 PM

Wednesday – 9:30 AM – 2:30 PM

Thursday – 9:30 AM –2:30 PM

Friday – Closed

Saturday – Closed

Sunday – Closed